IDAPA 18 — IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Company Activities

18.01.02 — Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges

Who does this rule apply to?
This rule applies to insurers and individuals licensed, listed, or approved to do insurance business

in the state of ldaho.

What is the purpose of this rule?
The purpose of this rule provides amounts to be collected for insurance fees, licenses, and

miscellaneous charges.

What is the legal authority for the agency to promulgate this rule?
This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

» Title 41, Chapter 2, et seq., Idaho Code — The Department of Insurance
» Title 41, Chapter 4, Idaho Code — Fees and Taxes

Who do I contact for more information on this rule?

Department of Insurance
700 W. State Street, 3" Floor
Boise, ID 83720-0043

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0043

Phone: 1(800) 721-3272 or (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398

Email: rulesreview(@doi.idaho.gov

Web: https://doi.idaho.gov/
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18.01.02 — SCHEDULE OF FEES, LICENSES, AND MISCELLANEOUS CHARGES

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Title 41, Chapters 2 and 4, Idaho Code, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
01. Title. IDAPA 18.01.02, “Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges.” (3-20-20)T

02. Scope. The purpose of this rule is to provide for the amounts to be collected for fees, licenses and
miscellaneous charges. (3-20-20)T
002. -- 010. (RESERVED)

011. FEES PAYABLE IN ADVANCE.
The director will collect in advance fees, licenses, and miscellaneous charges as outlined in this rule. (3-20-20)T
012. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. INSURER FEES.

01. Annual Continuation Fee. All insurers and other entities (set forth in Section 020) licensed, listed,
or approved to do business in the state of Idaho will pay an annual continuation fee. (3-20-20)T

The annual continuation fee is due on March st each year and is payment of the insurer’s fees due

through the following February. (3-20-20)T

b. The annual continuation fee is charged at the time the insurer apphes for admission to do business

in the state of Idaho. If the application is approved, the fee paid will cover the insurer’s fees through the following

February. (3-20-20)T

02. Fee for Insurers. For all insurance companies receiving a certificate of authority pursuant to Title

41, Chapter 3, Idaho Code, the annual continuation fee is as follows: (3-20-20)T

a. If insurer’s policy holders’ surplus at the preceding December 31 is less than ten million dollars

($10,000,000) - One thousand dollars ($1,000). (3-20-20)T

b. If insurer’s policy holders’ surplus at the preceding December 31 is ten million ($10,000,000) or

more, but less than one hundred million ($100,000,000) -- Two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500). (3-20-20)T

c. If insurer’s policy holders’ surplus at the preceding December 31 is one hundred million

($100,000,000) or greater - Four thousand five hundred dollars ($4,500). (3-20-20)T
03. Fees of Other Entities. The following entities will be assessed an annual continuation fee:

(3-20-20)T

a. Five hundred dollars ($500): (3-20-20)T

i. All reinsurers, listed pursuant to Section 41-515, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

ii. Authorized surplus line insurers. (3-20-20)T

iil. County mutual insurers. (3-20-20)T

iv. Fraternal benefit societies. (3-20-20)T

V. Hospital and/or professional service corporations. (3-20-20)T

Vi. Self-funded health care plans. (3-20-20)T

vii. Domestic Risk retention groups. (3-20-20)T

viii. Petroleum clean water trusts. (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 18.01.02

Department of Insurance Schedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneous Charges
iX. Rating organizations. (3-20-20)T
X. Advisory organizations. (3-20-20)T
b. One hundred dollars ($100): Purchasing groups. (3-20-20)T
04. Fees Provide. The annual continuation fee includes, but is not limited to, the following:
(3-20-20)T
a. Certificate of authority renewal, license renewal, and annual registration. (3-20-20)T
b. Arson, fire and fraud investigation costs. (3-20-20)T
c. Annual statement filing. (3-20-20)T
d. Agent appointment and renewal of appointment. (3-20-20)T
e. Filings under Title 41, Chapter 38, Idaho Code, Acquisitions of Control and Insurance Holding
Company Systems. (3-20-20)T
f. Filing of amendments to Articles of Incorporation. (3-20-20)T
g. Filing of amendments to Bylaws. (3-20-20)T
h. Amendments to Certificate of Authority. (3-20-20)T
i Filing of notice of significant transactions pursuant to Section 41-345, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
je Quarterly statement filing. (3-20-20)T
k. Examination expenses. (3-20-20)T
0s. Not Provided in Fees. Payment of the annual continuation fee will not exempt the insurer or entity
from the following: (3-20-20)T
a. Fees for application for producer license. (3-20-20)T
b. Costs incurred by the Department for investigation of an applicant for producer license. (3-20-20)T
c. Attorney’s fees and costs incurred by the Department when allowed pursuant to Idaho Code.
(3-20-20)T
d. Costs incurred for experts and consultants when allowed by Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
e. Penalties or fines levied by or payable to the Department of Insurance. (3-20-20)T
f. All fees set forth under Section 040. (3-20-20)T
06. Failure to Pay Fee. Failure to pay the annual continuation fee on or before March 1st each year
will result in the expiration of the insurer’s or entity’s authority to do business in the state of Idaho pursuant to Section
41-324, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

07. Reinstatement Fee. The reinstatement fee referenced in Section 41-324(3), Idaho Code, is the
amount referenced above for the insurer or entity continuation fee. (3-20-20)T

021. -- 029. (RESERVED)
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 18.01.02
Department of Insurance Schedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneous Charges

030. PRODUCER AND MISCELLANEOUS LICENSING FEES.

01. Original License Application. The following fees are due and needs to be paid with the filing

application for original license: (3-20-20)T
a. Administrators -- three hundred dollars ($300). (3-20-20)T
b. Producers -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
c. Designation as a managing general agent -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
d. Adjusters and public adjusters -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
e. Reinsurance intermediary -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
f. Surplus line brokers -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
g. Life settlement providers -- five hundred dollars ($500). (3-20-20)T
h. Life settlement brokers -- three hundred dollars ($300). (3-20-20)T
i. Independent review organization -- five hundred dollars ($500). (3-20-20)T
je Vendor of portable electronics insurance, a type of limited lines producer: (3-20-20)T
1. A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic transactions at
more than ten (10) locations in the state of Idaho -- one thousand dollars ($1,000). (3-20-20)T
ii. A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic transactions at ten
(10) or fewer locations in the state of Idaho -- one hundred dollars ($100). (3-20-20)T
02. Examination Fees. Each time a producer or adjuster's examination is taken for licensing under
Title 41, Chapters 10 and 11, Idaho Code, the applicant may pay a fee to a third-party testing vendor in the amount
established by contract between the department and the vendor. (3-20-20)T
03. Fingerprint Processing. Processing fingerprints (as applicable) -- not to exceed eighty dollars
($80). (3-20-20)T
04. License Renewal. The following fees are due and needs to be paid for each license to renew or
continue: (3-20-20)T
a. Adjusters, public adjusters, and producers (biennial) -- eighty dollars ($80), or sixty dollars ($60) if
renewed electronically. (3-20-20)T
i A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic transactions at
more than ten (10) locations in the state of Idaho -- five hundred dollars ($500). (3-20-20)T
il. A vendor of portable electronic insurance who is engaged in portable electronic transactions at ten
(10) or fewer locations in the state of Idaho -- one hundred dollars ($100). (3-20-20)T
b. Redesignation as managing general agent (annual) -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
c. Administrators (biennial) -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
L. Renewal form is filed on or before December 31. (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 18.01.02

Department of Insurance Schedule of Fees, Licenses, & Miscellaneous Charges
ii. Any renewal form postmarked after December 31 includes a penalty in an amount equal to the
renewal fee. (3-20-20)T
1. A renewal form postmarked after January 31 needs to be submitted as a new application with
supporting documents and the full application fee. (3-20-20)T
d. Surplus line brokers (biennial) -- eighty dollars ($80), or sixty dollars ($60) if renewed
electronically. (3-20-20)T
e. Life settlement providers (biennial) -- three hundred dollars ($300). (3-20-20)T
f. Life settlement brokers (biennial) -- eighty dollars ($80). (3-20-20)T
g. Independent review organization (biennial) -- three hundred dollars ($300). (3-20-20)T
031. -- 039. (RESERVED)

040. MISCELLANEOUS FEES.

01. Certified Copy. Certified copy of certificate of authority, license or registration - Fifty dollars
($50). (3-20-20)T
02. Certificate Under Seal. Director’s certificate under seal (except for those under Subsection 040.01
of this rule) - Twenty dollars ($20). (3-20-20)T
03. Documents Filed. For each copy of a document filed in the DOI, a reasonable cost as fixed by the

director. For rate and form filings not submitted electronically through the national System for Electronic Rate and
Form Filing (SERFF) -- Twenty dollars ($20) for each rate or form filed in excess of ten (10) per calendar year.

(3-20-20)T
04. Insurer Service of Process. For receiving and forwarding copy of summons or other process
served upon the director as process agent of an insurer -- Thirty dollars ($30). (3-20-20)T
05. Agent Service of Process. For receiving and forwarding copy of summons or other process served
upon the director as process agent of a nonresident producer or other person for which the director is authorized to
serve as statutory agent for service of process -- Thirty dollars ($30). (3-20-20)T
06. Continuing Education. Filing continuing education applications for approval and certification of
subjects of courses (each application) -- Twenty-five dollars ($25). (3-20-20)T
041. -- 049. (RESERVED)
050. REFUNDS.
All fees, licenses, and miscellaneous charges are non-refundable except as noted. (3-20-20)T

051. OVERPAYMENTS.
Overpayments of published fees will be returned only when such overpayments exceed twenty dollars ($20), or upon
request of the payor. (3-20-20)T

052. -- 999. (RESERVED)

Section 040 Page 6 IAC Archive 2020 C1



Subject Index

F
Fees Payable In Advance 3

|
Insurer Fees 3
Annual Continuation Fee 3
Failure to Pay Fee 4
Fee for Insurers 3
Fees of Other Entities 3
Fees Provide 4
Not Provided in Fees 4
Reinstatement Fee 4

L
Legal Authority 3

M

Miscellaneous Fees 6
Agent Service of Process 6
Certificate Under Seal 6
Certified Copy 6
Continuing Education 6
Documents Filed 6
Insurer Service of Process 6

o
Overpayments 6
P
Producer & Miscellaneous Licensing

Fees 5

Examination Fees 5
Fingerprint Processing 5
License Renewal 5

Original License Application 5

R
Refunds 6

T
Title & Scope 3

Page 7 IAC Archive 2020 C1



	18.01.02 – Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and Miscellaneous Charges
	000. Legal Authority.
	001. Title And Scope.
	002. -- 010. (Reserved)
	011. Fees Payable In Advance.
	012. -- 019. (Reserved)
	020. Insurer Fees.
	021. -- 029. (Reserved)
	030. Producer And Miscellaneous Licensing Fees.
	031. -- 039. (Reserved)
	040. Miscellaneous Fees.
	041. -- 049. (Reserved)
	050. Refunds.
	051. Overpayments.
	052. -- 999. (Reserved)
	F
	I
	L
	M
	O
	P
	R
	T




